Sunday, May 1, 2011

FGS Radio - Planning Your Genealogy Society Event

Click here to create a reminder to listen to FGS Radio:
http://www.blogtalkradio.com/mysociety/2011/05/07/planning-your-genealogy-society-event


Saturday, May 7, 2011
2-3pm Eastern US
1-2pm Central US
12-1pm Mountain US
11am-12pm Pacific US

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/mysociety/2011/05/07/planning-your-genealogy-society-event

Join us for the next episode of My Society, a new Internet radio show on Blog talk Radio presented by the Federation of Genealogical Societies on Saturday, May 7, 2011 starting at 2pm Eastern, 1pm Central, 12pm Mountain and 11am Pacific when this week we'll be discussing: Planning Your Genealogy Society Event.

Hosting this week’s show live from Austin, Texas will be Randy Whited, FGS board member and an avid genealogist for over 25 years. Randy is a member of the Austin Genealogical Society since 2005, and has been involved with the Society by teaching beginner’s classes, leading monthly and special programs and is currently serving a second term on its Board of Directors. Randy is in his fourth year as Editor of the AGS Quarterly, for which he has twice been honored by the Texas State Genealogical Society. Randy is also serving as 2nd Vice President of the Williamson County Genealogical Society and is frequently a speaker there.



Our special guest will be Paula Stuart-Warren, CG from St. Paul, Minnesota who will help discuss genealogy event planning from the hired speaker’s point of view.

Paula is a Certified Genealogist working full-time in genealogical and historical research, lecturing, consulting, and writing. Since 1997 she has been a Course Coordinator for the Salt Lake Institute of Genealogy, lectured at National Genealogical Society and Federation of Genealogical Societies conferences since 1993, and in 29 states and Canada for many types of groups.

A former officer of the Association of Professional Genealogists and former board member of the Minnesota Genealogical Society, she is a member and volunteer in historical and genealogical organizations. Currently she is President of the Northland Chapter of the Association of Professional Genealogists, a member of the Board of Directors of the Federation of Genealogical Societies, and co-chair of the 2011 FGS Conference being held in Springfield, Illinois.

Links
My Society will also feature a member society of FGS during the broadcast. Please join us for great conversation and an exchange of ideas concerning genealogy societies every Saturday afternoon!

No comments:

Post a Comment