Thursday, April 21, 2011

Bringing Genealogy Societies into the 21st Century - FGS Radio

Call In Number: +1 (619) 638-8565
Saturday, April 23, 2011
2-3pm Eastern US
1-2pm Central US
12-1pm Mountain US
11am-12pm Pacific US
Join us for the premiere episode of My Society, a new Internet radio show on Blog talk Radio presented by the Federation of Genealogical Societies on Saturday, April 23, 2011 starting at 2pm Eastern, 1pm Central, 12pm Mountain and 11am Pacific when this week we'll be discussing bringing genealogy societies into the 21st century.
Our special guest leading this discussion will be Curt B. Witcher, Senior Manager for Special Collections at the Allen County Public Library in Fort Wayne, IN where he manages The Genealogy Center, serves as general curator for that institution’s Rare and Fine Book Collection as well as the institutional archives, and is the Supervisor for the newly acquired Lincoln Financial Foundation Collection.  Curt is the project lead on the library’s digitization initiatives--initiatives that include partnerships with the Internet Archive, ProQuest, Footnote, and WeRelate as well as growing a site of free, searchable data files at GenealogyCenter.org. He is a former president of both the Federation of Genealogical Societies and the National Genealogical Society, and the founding president of the Indiana Genealogical Society.
Curt was distinguished in 1995 as a fellow of the Utah Genealogical Association (FUGA) and received the Federation of Genealogical Societies' Rabbi Malcolm H. Stern Humanitarian Award, in 1997.  Curt was recognized in 2006 by being named the first fellow of the Indiana Genealogical Society.  He was honored in May of 2007 with the National Genealogical Society’s P. William Filby award for outstanding, life-time contributions to genealogical librarianship.
Links
My Society will also feature a member society of FGS during the broadcast. Please join us for great conversation and an exchange of ideas concerning genealogy societies every Saturday afternoon!  

No comments:

Post a Comment